Depreciation Review Questions – Depreciation

Need help with your homework? Look no further! Our subject experts are ready to effortlessly handle your assignments, so you can finally say goodbye to stress and hello to top grades.

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.
Click or drag files to this area to upload. You can upload up to 3 files.
Get a response in under 15 min

Depreciation Review Questions:

Depreciation is the loss of value of machinery after a certain time period.

Hence, to understand this concept with greater depth, it is important that certain mathematical calculations be done and some questions be answered.

Here is a list of queries that you may have and answering these questions will help you get a better grip of this topic.

Theoretical questions:

Objective Type questions:

  1. In straight line method, what happens to the level of depreciation every year?

Increases/decreases/either increases or decreases/remains constant

  1. What does depreciation mean?

Fluctuation/amortization/physical wear and tear/obsolescence

  1. What is depreciation calculated on?

Fictitious assets/fixed assets/current assets/wasting assets

  1. Which method is depreciation on straight line calculated on?

Market value/original cost/opening balance/closing balance

  1. On which basis of asset is depreciation calculated?

Book value/market value/invoice value/cost price

  1. According to diminishing balance method on what is depreciation calculated?

Average cost/original cost/market value/written down value

Short answer type question:

  1. What do you mean by the following terms: Fluctuation, Obsolescence, Depletion, Amortization?
  2. In case you are given a situation, where you are taking 3 business enterprises into consideration. If you find, depreciation in the first case, followed by depletion and amortization in the second and third case, what would be the various types of business into consideration in this case?

(Options given: Specific contractual business, exhaustion of natural resources, fixed assets)

  1. What are the various causes of depreciation? Explain them in details
  2. Here a situation is considered. Let us take Dr. A and Dr. B in a locality, who happen to be competitors in their professional domain. Since they both have bought machinery for their patients, Dr. A wishes to write an equal amount of depreciation each year, while Dr. B wants to write off larger amounts in case of early years. Since neither of them have any idea regarding depreciation methods, so how this method should be explained to them in the simplest format. Who is following a wiser strategy and why? Explain in details!

(It is important to note that written down value method is not only acceptable as per the law, but it also one of the easiest mode given that technological changes are not affected in this case)

Very Short Questions:

  1. What do you mean by depreciation?
  2. Explain 3 features of depreciation in details
  3. What is the formula for calculating depreciation under straight line method?
  4. What are the 3 factors that affect the amount of depreciation?
  5. Let us take a scenario, where a pharmaceutical producer has just found a rare solution to a grave disease and got a patent registered in his name for that. What would be the term that would be present in this profit and loss account that would be taken as cost of the patent that is written off?

Long answer type questions:

  1. Explain in details as to what you understand by Fluctuation, Obsolescence/ Depletion/Amortization?
  2. What is the difference between written down method of finding depreciation and straight line method? Explain in details.
  3. What are the advantages and disadvantages of fixed installment method?
  4. What are the positives and negatives associated with diminishing balance method?
  5. Why is it important to provide a specific value for depreciation?
  6. What are the effects of depreciation on Profit and Loss account?
  7. How does depreciation affect the Balance sheet?
  8. What are the different methods by which depreciation is calculated?
  9. Explain the straight-line method of calculating depreciation in detail?

Practical Questions:

These are a set of sums that is essential for a student to understand to ensure that they can deal with real life situations that are given to them.

  1. Let us take an example where a machine is bought on June 1, 2007, for $10,000 with depreciation rate being 20%. What would be the machinery accounts that are calculated for a period of 3 years, given that account is closed on May 30th, 2008? (Answer: $4000)
  1. What if a boiler was bought for $10,000 and certain additional amounts as $2,000 was added to it as per the forwarding charges. If depreciation rates were to be taken at 10%, for the period of 3 years, then what would be the total depreciation charges via the written down method? (Answer: Closing balance = $ 14,580, $1620, $1800,$2000)
  1. What is the concept of depreciation and how is it calculated?
  2. What is the difference between straight line method and written down method and explain both in details?
  1. If a particular product was bought for $50,000 for a period of 3 years on July 1, 2008, at 10% pa, then what would be its depreciated value, when calculated by both straight line method and written down method? (Answer: W.D.V. method $36,450, Straight line method $ 35,000)
  1. In this scenario, the details of Maharaja Enterprises are taken into consideration. Say the company wants details associated with its business that has ended on December 31, 2010. So, in this case, it is given that Debit balance of plant and machinery on January 1, 2010 is taken at $ 26840. It is also given that 3 machines which were previously standing on the books for $1.286, was now sold in 2010, for $600. It is also stated that a set of new machinery were bought in May 2010 for $5880, and installed with an additional cost of $216. Also given is the fact that the depreciation to all addition in case of plants and machinery of the factory was merely a 0% in case of old plants. In such a scenario, what would the plant and machinery account be as placed in December 2010? (Balance on machinery is taken at 25,626)
  1. What is the concept of depreciation?
  2. Why is depreciation charged in case of a factory?
  1. Let us take a situation where a particular machinery was bought for $9500, while workers who were associated with the installation procedure was paid a mere $50. How will this act as reducing installment method or even depreciated reducing installment given that its actual working life is 10years? What would also be the scenario if depreciation balance is to be counted after a period of 5 years, rate being taken at 10%? (Answer: $ 5,000 can be found with straight line method. The reducing installment method gives answer as $. 5,905)
  1. Let us take a scenario, where Negi Road Transport Corporation wishes to buy a total of 5 minibuses, each costing $ 2,00.000 on May On November 2002, one of the buses met with an accident resulting in complete loss of it. As per the rules of the Insurance company, an amount of $ 90.000 was paid off as per complete settlement. On that very day, the company decided to buy a second hand minibus at the cost of $ 1,00.000 with additional $20,000 being paidon it given that it was overhaul costs. If the depreciation rate is charged at 20%, what would be the account balance of depreciation for a period of 3 years, given that it is counted on straight line basis of depreciation which would end on Dec 31, 2004? (Answer: Loss on the destroyed bus being 10,000, final balance that is left is $ 4,74.000.                   Given that loss on machinery is placed at $25,000, balance of machinery is taken at $ 6,00.000)
  1. On the 1st of January, 2006, Neelam Sharma bought a machine whose original cost was $25,000. On this, she spent certain additional amounts that included, the cost for middle man being at $1,000, $5,000 for carriage and other freight charges that were included, $500, for getting a specialized iron pad and $3500 for total installation cost. If it is taken that machine that was bought depreciated via the written down method at the rate of 10%, then how would the balance be shown if This machine after a period of 3 years is further sold off to Deepa $30,500 with an additional brokerage cost being at $500. If the accounts were closed on December 31st of each respective years, what would be the Profit or Loss on the sale of this machine? (Answer: $ 4,485 profit would be made on it)

These are some of the most difficult problems that need to be solved. Once a student can solve these queries, all the rest are quite similar problems.

Links of Previous Main Topic:-

Link of Next Accounting Topics:-

Homework Blues?

Get expert help with homework for all subjects.

  • NPlagiarism-free work
  • NHonest Pricing
  • NMoney-back guarantee

Latest Reviews

Solved Sample Works

Accounting Homework

Corporate Accounting Sample

Biology Homework

Genetics Assignment Sample

Essay Writing Help

Business Plan Sample

Homework Help FAQs

Our Answers to Your Questions

How do I submit my homework?
K
L

Getting homework help is very simple with us. Students can either send us the homework via email or they can upload it to our online form here. For a quicker response, You can also chat with us at WhatsApp and submit homework directly. You are sure to get a response from our side within 10 minutes.

How much will my homework cost?
K
L

The cost of paying someone to do your homework varies depending on the service and the type of assignment. We have listed our standard pricing plans for popularly used writing services. For other kind of assignments, You can get a free instant quote from us using our online form.

We also accept partial payment to start working on your assignment help. You can pay the remaining amount when your task gets completed. No pressure of up-front payment. No hidden order costs.

Can I receive help with my homework anytime?
K
L

Yes, you can receive help with your homework anytime with us. Our online homework help services are available 24/7, allowing you to receive assistance with your homework anytime, anywhere.

For urgent homework requests, reach out to us through our LiveChat or WhatsApp channels and one of our friendly support agents will assist you in finding the right expert for your online homework help request immediately. With our services, you can rely on 24/7 availability and meeting deadlines.

Are online homework websites budget-friendly for students like me?
K
L

Yes, Our Online Homework Help websites are an affordable solution for you as a student. Compared to traditional tutoring services, MyHomeworkHelp prices their homework help services honestly and within the budget of college students. This makes it easier for you to receive assistance with your homework without breaking the bank.

What is your plagiarism-free policy?
K
L

At myhomeworkhelp, we take plagiarism very seriously and ensure that all solutions provided by our tutors are original and authentic. Our tutors are trained to provide custom-made solutions, tailored specifically to meet the requirements of each student. We do not provide pre-written papers. All our homeswork solutions are made from scratch, guaranteeing 100% orignal homework answers.

Additionally, we have strict plagiarism-detection tools in place to check all submissions for authenticity.

Is using an Online Homework Help Service cheating?
K
L

Using online homework help services is not equivalent to cheating. Our services are intended to support students with their homework and provide them with the resources they need to succeed academically. With the help of our online homework help services, students can receive immediate assistance with their homework from any location, at any time.

At myhomeworkhelp, we are committed to promoting academic integrity. Our tutors provide solutions that serve as guides for drafting your own work. It is not acceptable to submit someone else's work as your own, as this constitutes academic plagiarism.

Can I chat with my tutor?
K
L

Using our secure chat board, you can now chat directly with your assigned tutor. The chats are encrypted both ways to secure your privacy. This makes your contact with the tutor directly & confidentially, so you can better explain any requirements or changes if needed or just need updates.

You can't contact the experts outside of chat board platform. Sharing any personal information, including but not limited to contact information, goes against our Terms and Conditions and therefore may result in permanently blocking you from the platform. We take any personal data very seriously and we do it for the safety of our users.

Know more about chat board here.

What is your money-back guarantee policy?
K
L

It’s worth noting that our online homework help service rarely leads to disappointment among students. Our expert tutors, along with our support and quality assurance team, are dedicated to providing the best possible experience for our customers. However, if for any reason a student is unsatisfied with their homework help solution, we offer unlimited revisions until they are fully satisfied.

In the rare event that a student remains unsatisfied even after revisions, we offer a money-back guarantee. We want all of our students to feel confident and secure when they turn to us for assistance with their homework, and this guarantee is just one way that we demonstrate our commitment to providing the best possible service. If you have any concerns about our services or the quality of the work you receive, please contact us for support.

What is the expertise of the tutor assigned to do my homework?
K
L

At myhomeworkhelp, we take pride in our team of qualified and experienced tutors. All of our tutors undergo a rigorous selection process and are required to have a minimum of a master's degree in their respective fields. Additionally, they must pass a series of tests to demonstrate their proficiency and ability to deliver quality work. We believe in transparency and providing our clients with the best possible service. You can be confident in the expertise of the tutor assigned to do your homework.

What about privacy & confidentiality?
K
L

Using My Homework Help is absolutely safe. We care about your security, therefore we encrypt all personal data to make every user feel safe while using our services and we don’t share any personal information with any third parties without your permission. Your credit card information is not stored anywhere at My Homework Help, and use of PayPal relies on their secure payment networks. Your identity, payment and homework are in safe hands. You can always be certain of getting professional help and remaining anonymous, while using My Homework Help.